Six weeks today the Student Radio Awards will be happening at the indigO2 in London, today we announce the hosts

Following the announcement of the joint support of this year’s Student Radio Awards by BBC Radio 1 and Global Radio, Nick Grimshaw and Dave Berry have been confirmed to host this years ceremony, to be held at London’s indigO2, on Thursday, November 8th 2012. Nick Grimshaw is the host of the new Radio 1 Breakfast Show and was involved in student radio whilst at Liverpool University, whilst Dave Berry presents alongside Lisa Snowdon on The Capital Breakfast Show for Capital London.

The Student Radio Awards celebrate the best in student radio talent from around the UK, and offers students the chance to be recognised by some of the top radio industry organisations and professionals. The pair will be assisted by BBC Radio 1’s Gemma Cairney and Capital FMs Pandora who will be roving around the venue, chatting to the crowds, getting to all the backstage gossip and seeking the reactions of the winners as their results are announced.

Nick Grimshaw said: “I’m super excited to be co-hosting the Student Radio Awards with Dave – student radio was my first taste of broadcasting and the first place I got to bang on about what I had for lunch!”

Dave Berry added: “It’s a pleasure to be on hosting duties at the prestigious Student Radio awards, I’m not only looking forward to helping inspire the next generation of radio talent but of course also stealing all their ideas for the Capital breakfast show”

The Student Radio Association is also very pleased to announced that Annie Mac will be continuing to support the awards as Chair of the Student Radio Awards, a role that she has held for the past year.

The SRA is delighted that the radio industry continues supporting student radio, recognising the talent and creativity that will go on to sustain the industry for years to come. This year’s awards received over 500 entries, from student radio stations across the UK – all competing in thirteen categories, plus The Kevin Greening Award for Creativity, awarded in Kevin’s memory for unique on air creativity and exceptional execution of innovative radio.

Judging is currently underway from over 100 judges from across the radio and media industries, and the nominations will be revealed at your local Nomination Party on Wednesday October, 10th 2012.

For further information, please visit or contact Stu Manton via email at