The I Love Student Radio Awards were held on Wednesday night at the National Student Radio Conference, hosted by Demon FM in Leicester.


The I Love Student Radio Awards were a glamorous affair. Students from over 40 student radio stations from around the country gathered together to celebrate the unsung heros of student radio. A talk from Aled Haydn-Jones from BBC Radio 1 preceded the event and students dined on a Hog Roast. So good it needs capital letters attached to its name.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Dr Who look-a-like, Chris Sawyer (sorry Chris), a producer for BBC Radio 1 and Pete Allison, their newest presenter who hosted the Early Morning Breakfast Show the week before the conference.

So without further-a-do, here are the winners of the night!

Outstanding Contribution to a Student Radio Station
Neil Kewn – Demon FM

Most Improved Student Radio Station
Hive Radio

Community Spirit
107 Spark FM

Charity Champion

Most Commited Committee Member
Dan Purves – Demon FM

Volunteer of the Year
Glen Scott – Pure FM

Region of the Year
North West, North Wales and Northern Ireland

Congratulations to everyone! If you want to see photos and interviews with the winners, you should check out our blog from the conference, which you can find here.