The nominations are in and have been shortlisted! We received loads of entries this year, up 10% on the last, so it was really difficult to make a decision. You’ll also notice that there is no shortlist for Best Fundraising Initiative – this was a new category this year, so we have decided to let the second round judges decide between all the entries. So, here are your contenders for this year:

Best Training Initiative

Smoke Radio
The Cat Radio
Xpress Radio
Surge Radio
Leeds Student Radio
Spark Sunderland
Dragon Radio

Most Committed Committee Member, Volunteer of the Year and Outstanding Contribution

(A lot of people were nominated in more than one category, so here are the people who are shortlisted to go through for any one of the above three awards)

Ben Wheatley (Scratch Radio)
Hannah Mylrea (Surge Radio)
Nellie Khossousi (URN)
Alex Light (URY)
George McDonagh (Smoke Radio)
Tim Arstall (RaW)
James Van Hinsbergh (RaW)
Matt Curtis (Fly FM)
Anthony Williams (URY)
Stephen Clarke (URY)
Andy Durant (URY)
Jamie Glover (CSR)
Andrew Harris (CSR)
Scott Hastie (Spark Sunderland)
Patrik Toobe (Surge)
Anthony Welch & Jamie Moulds (Latitude)
Charlie Smith (Leeds Student Radio)
Nelson Hylton (Pure FM)
Luke Nixon (Dragon Radio)
Philippa Sims (Livewire)
Giacomo Palmieri (CSR)
David Pearce (Radio Sonar)
Michael Lavin (Smoke Radio)
Jake Cusworth (Spark Sunderland)
Alice Winney (Spark Sunderland)
Jaguar Bingham (Leeds)
Michael Oakes (Spark Sunderland)
Paul Jones (Shock Radio)
Matt Broad (Radio Sonar)
Naomi Oiku (Radio Sonar)
Dan Linstead (Surge Radio)
Ben Collins-Jones (Latitude)
Andy Vogel (Trident Media)
Sam Dedman (Surge Radio)
Jack Hogan (Scratch Radio)
Emma Halligan (Smoke Radio)
Amber Lewis (Hive Radio)
Helen Everett (Fly FM)
Joe Richmond-Knight (CSR)
Fraser Whieldon (CSR)
Lucie Spencer (Latitude)
Mo Ayoub (Leeds)
Anna Palmer & Oliver Bramley (Leeds)
Stuart Cook (Leeds)
Nahum Bolt (Dragon Radio)

Best Outreach Project

If you entered more than once, I have specified below which entry got through.

Insanity Radio – Radiothons
Radio LaB
Smoke Radio
Hive Radio
CSR – CSR Presents
CSR – Youth Academy
Surge Radio
Tone Radio

Best Audience Initiative

Tone Radio
Latitude Radio
Purple Radio
URY – YUSU Elections
URY – Yorkshire
Smoke Radio
Xpress Radio
Dragon Radio
Surge Radio

Most Improved Radio Station

Radio LaB
Burst Radio (Bristol)
Hive Radio
Dragon Radio
Insanity Radio
Fuse FM
Pure FM
Verve Radio

That’s it for this year! Winners and highly commended entries will be announced at a ceremony at the National Student Radio Conference on Thursday the 31st March after a three course meal. Please come along and show your support! Tickets to the conference are still on sale until the 14th March at midnight. Tickets are available at