We had the highest number of entries from any year to this year’s I love Student Radio Awards, which makes this year’s winners very deserving indeed! The nominees were further shortlisted and then sent off to various judges within the radio industry – and here is the final list of highly commended and winners in each category.

Outstanding Contribution to a Student Radio Station – judged by the Radio Academy
Luke Nixon – Dragon Radio
Dan Linstead – Surge Radio
Charlie Smith – Leeds Student Radio

Best Training Initiative – judged by the Press Association
Leeds Student Radio
Spark Sunderland
The Cat Radio

Most Improved Student Station – judged by SRA Alumni
Insanity Radio
Radio LaB

Best Audience Initiative – judged by Audio Always
Purple Radio
URY – Yorkshire Floods
Tone Radio – Core Blimey Cider

Best Outreach Project – judged by the SRA Exec
Insanity Radio – Radiothons
Radio LaB
CSR Youth Academy

Committee Member of the Year – judged by The Selector
Amber Lewis – Hive Radio
Mo Ayoub – Leeds Student Radio
Lucie Spencer – Latitude

Best Fundraising Initiative – judged by the University Touring Network
Dragon Radio
Smoke Radio
Latitude Radio

Volunteer of the Year – judged by SRA Exec
Jaguar Bingham – Leeds Student Radio
Jake Cusworth – Spark
Michael Oakes – Spark

Region of the Year – judged by the SRA Alumni
South East
South West & South Wales