Every year the Student Radio Association awards up to four people Honorary Life Member status. This is a type of membership is awarded by the SRA as a whole to people who have given up their time to improve and contribute to our events and activities. It is a way of saying thanks to those individuals who have done so much for us over the years.

This year, we have chosen to award three people:

Mike Cass
Mike has been a strong supporter of student radio for years, and as part of Bauer has given many students their first professional radio opportunity. Mike has always been keen to give students their first taste of the radio industry, regardless of their age and status, and has given many, many hours to take the time to give students good, solid career advice.

Carina Tillson
One of the directors of Sound Women and currently at Ofcom, Carina has supported the Student Radio Association by speaking at conferences and supporting us at awards. She is a strong advocate for promoting women in broadcasting and radio, and an inspiration for any female looking for a strong role model in the industry.

Jonny Chambers
Jonny has been the Design Officer on the Student Radio Association for four years, tirelessly designing and writing programmes for our awards and conference, working across SRA presentations and social media, and generally being one of the most useful and dedicated people you could possibly have around at events. In 2016, Jonny rebranded the SRA from scratch, giving it a whole new updated look and feel – and has put in many, many hundreds of hours to make sure the branding is consistent across all our channels and at events.

Congratulations to Mike, Carina and Jonny. They will be awards with Honorary Life Membership trophies at the Student Radio Awards at Indigo at the O2 in November.

Thank you so much for all your hard work!