We had the highest number of entries from any year to this year’s I love Student Radio Awards, supported by Communicorp, which makes this year’s winners very deserving indeed! There were over 200 nominations this year – an AMAZING record. The nominees were further shortlisted and then sent off to various judges within the radio industry – and here is the final list of highly commended and winners in each category.

Outstanding Contribution to a Student Radio Station – judged by talkSPORT
Nelson Hylton – Victory Radio
Cat Warren – The Cat Radio
Meg Long – Newcastle Student Radio

Best Training Initiative – judged by Student Radio Awards head judges
Demon FM
Purple Radio

Most Improved Student Station – judged by The Hits Radio
Shock Radio
Leeds Student Radio

Best Audience Initiative – judged by Bauer
URF – Krispy Kreme Scavenger Hunt
City Radio – Campus Initiative
Shock Radio – Reboot Night

Best Outreach Project – judged by Bauer
Spark – The Passport
URF – 24 Hour Broadcast
Livewire – Traditions

Committee Member of the Year – judged by Fire Radio
Gabriel Green – Smoke Radio
Nathan Ely – Spark
Thomas Rowson – Rebel Radio

Hero of the Moment – judged by BBC Introducing, Norfolk
Tom Pearson – Bailrigg FM
Skylar McDonald – Smoke Radio
Jack Biggin – Leeds Student Radio

Team of the Year – judged by IRN
Livewire – Traditions Team
URF – Events Team
Surge Radio – News Team

Region of the Year – judged by Mike Cass
South East
North East and Yorkshire
South West and South Wales