Every year, the Charles Parker Prize is awarded for the Best Student Radio Features – this award is open to any student studying radio production.

Success for Student Radio Alumni in the 2020 Charles Parker Prize

Every year, the Charles Parker prize is awarded to radio production students in the UK for the Best Student Radio Feature, and 2020 has been an incredible win for some Student Radio alumni!

With one Gold winner and four other prize-winners, the awards are given out by The Charles Parker Archive trust – and winning features go on to be played on BBC Radio!

This year, the productions will be played out on BBC Radio 4.

It’s so amazing to see so many winners and runners-up from student radio stations scattered around the country! Check out the winners:


Alexandra Morgan – Scratch Radio, Birmingham City University


Lewis Harrower – Spark Radio, University of Sunderland

Gabriel Green – Smoke Radio, University of Westminster

Charlotte Hurrell – Scratch Radio, Birmingham City University

Richard Queree – BIRSt Radio, Bournemouth University


Bruce Guthrie – University of the West of England

Chantal Herbert – University of Sunderland

James Montague – Radio LaB 97.1FM, University of Bedfordshire 

Congratulations to everyone named above!

For more information on the projects submitted and how you can get involved for future years of The Charles Parker Prize, click here.