• The ILSR Awards are open for nominations

  • SRACon Tickets

  • SRACon 2017

National Student Radio Conference

  Tickets on sale now for #SRACon 2017!

Join us from April 19th – 21st at the De Montfort University in Leicester for three days of radio awesomeness. Tickets are on sale now via our external online shop.

Be sure to subscribe to the SRA newsletter to be the first to hear speaker announcements and other news in the run-up to SRACon.

Click here to purchase tickets

The National Student Radio Conference is one of the most interesting, entertaining and successful events in the radio industry calendar. Three days of action have been packed into as many sessions as possible to give you real value for money and plenty to take back to your stations.

Last year’s #SRACon was held in Cardiff with Xpress Radio and you can look back at SRACon 2016 here.

The National Student Radio Conference is a hugely popular event in the SRA calendar, and has grown progressively year on year, to such an extent that is has doubled in attendees over the last few years. This event is three days, usually during the Easter holidays, and is entirely membership focussed; the programme of sessions, entertainment and opportunities is 100% aimed at developing student radio, station programming, show teams, and individuals.

In 2017, the Student Radio Conference will return to Leicester to be hosted by De Montfort University’s DemonFM…

Some of the biggest names in radio will flock to Leicester next April as De Montfort Students’ Union (DSU)’s DemonFM hosts the Student Radio Association (SRA)’s annual conference. The news, announced at the SRA Awards at London’s Indigo O2 is music to the ears of the student-led station which last hosted the conference on the De Montfort University Leicester (DMU) campus in 2013.

Hannah Rowe, a third-year Politics student and DemonFM’s Station Manager, said: “I’m an odd mixture of ecstatic and relieved, as we’ve been putting work into this bid since June. I’m just now super excited to see the product of so much hard work and dedication by the members of DemonFM pay off. For three days in April, DemonFM is going to be abuzz with the energy of the best conference the SRA has seen yet!”

The conference in April sees hundreds of budding radio presenters and producers from student radio stations across the UK come together for sessions from some of the biggest names in radio. Speakers at last year’s conference, hosted by Xpress Radio at Cardiff University, included Radio 1 presenters Nick Grimshaw and Greg James, Radio X producers Pippa Taylor and Dave Masterman, comedian and BBC Radio Wales host Rhod Gilbert and LBC presenter Ian Collins to name but a few.

Mike Mayes, VP Media and Communications at DSU, said: “I’m incredibly excited that DMU has been chosen to host the SRA Conference in 2017. Each year student radio stations around the country bid to host the conference and this year we’re very happy to have been selected. We’ve got a long heritage of supporting student media here at DMU with our radio station stretching back 21 years and a student paper having been produced since before then.

“DemonFM has made waves in the radio industry since then, with many of our alumni now holding significant positions in the industry. This conference will be a fantastic opportunity to showcase what we do and celebrate the hard work of not just us, but student radio around the whole country.”

James Gardner, Pro Vice-Chancellor Strategic and International Partnerships, who supported Demon FM’s bid to host, said: “It is a coup for De Montfort University to host this event for a second time and a tribute to the hard work of all the student volunteers at Demon FM who have put together an impressive bid. It is the perfect 21st birthday present for them.”